11 Comments
Jun 29, 2023·edited Jun 29, 2023Liked by Carli Velocci

Less an issue and more a feature of the current pace of things, but with how fast news gets reported and spread, there's not much opportunity for in-depth, nuanced reporting on anything. And if there was, I don't think many would read all of it. The result is that every story gets flattened, and the shallow understanding of events is used as justification for blame and divisiveness.

Expand full comment
author

This is 100% a thing. While a lot of places do those follow-ups and deep dives, they don't get nearly as much traffic as the quick hits. And as stuff only gets faster, I feel like it's been getting worse. And this is so bad for misinformation because you have stories that are trying to debunk the bad conspiracy theories that nobody will read!

Expand full comment
author

Here's something fun. I keep getting signed up for emails for right-wing websites. I don't know where they're getting their subscribers but considering people move lists around all the time, I wonder which list I'm on.

Expand full comment

Too many outlets believe that content needs to be rage-inducing to encourage traffic and engagement. It might be the easiest way to get clicks, but it's not the only way. Those outlets are only damaging their trust in the long run.

Expand full comment
author

Yeah they're prioritizing short-term wins over long-term value and gains. But when all you have is Google traffic then I guess it doesn't matter what your audience looks like 🤷

Expand full comment
author

I saw this today! I remember picking up Nat Geo as a kid. I really don't know what to do with this information

Expand full comment

Haha I know it's not actually an issue in and of itself, but merely a symptom of one

Expand full comment

It's ironic that a blog called "Paid in Exposure" is now asking its readers to write content for the blog for free.

Expand full comment
author

Way to take the absolute most bad faith route here. And it only took five minutes.

So I'll say that your contribution is shitty commentors. Which fair. It is a big problem.

Expand full comment

This is not the first time a journalist has ever asked a question.

Expand full comment